The answer
What the agent concluded
The ingredients of the thesis hold up. Membership fees grew every year, compounding 8.5% a year from FY2020 to FY2025, and equalled 51.3% of operating income in FY2025. Renewal rates were 92.3% in the U.S. and Canada and 89.8% worldwide.
Two qualifications. FY2025 fee growth was partly a price increase, not just new members. And management reports that online sign-ups renew at a lower rate.
The conclusion itself is not yet tested. Operating income rose in every year of the window, so these filings cannot show how earnings behave when the business is under pressure. Costco also does not disclose the cost of serving members, so fees cannot be read as pure profit.
Thesis → evidence
Each claim, tested
Fees rose every year from $3.54B (FY2020) to $5.32B (FY2025); annual growth ranged 5.4%–10.3%.
reported · COSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW 10-K · period ended 2022-08-28; COSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW 10-K · period ended 2025-08-31Membership fees equalled 51.3%–65.2% of operating income each year.
calculated · Calculated from the income statements“At the end of 2025, our member renewal rates were 92.3% in the U.S. and Canada and 89.8% worldwide.”
quoted · COSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW 10-K · period ended 2025-08-31“Membership fee revenue increased 10% in 2025, driven by new member sign-ups and membership fee increases.”
quoted · COSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW 10-K · period ended 2025-08-31“Renewal rates were negatively impacted by a higher number of memberships sold online…”
quoted · COSTCO WHOLESALE CORP /NEW 10-K · period ended 2025-08-31Operating income grew every year FY2020–FY2025 (4.1% to 23.4%). The window has no year of falling profit to test resilience against.
calculated · Calculated from the income statementsEvidence
The numbers and where they came from
| Fiscal year | Membership fees | Operating income | Fees / op. income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | $3.54B | $5.43B | 65.2% | 10-K · 0000909832-22-000021 |
| FY2021 | $3.88B | $6.71B | 57.8% | 10-K · 0000909832-22-000021 |
| FY2022 | $4.22B | $7.79B | 54.2% | 10-K · 0000909832-22-000021 |
| FY2023 | $4.58B | $8.11B | 56.4% | 10-K · 0000909832-25-000101 |
| FY2024 | $4.83B | $9.29B | 52.0% | 10-K · 0000909832-25-000101 |
| FY2025 | $5.32B | $10.38B | 51.3% | 10-K · 0000909832-25-000101 |
Costco membership fees and operating income. Fiscal years end on the Sunday nearest August 31 (FY2023 was a 53-week year). Labels differ between filings (“Operating Income” vs “Operating income”); the XBRL concept is the same.
Calculations
Inputs and method, not just results
- Fees / operating income, FY2025
Membership fees / operating income5,323,000,000 / 10,383,000,000= 51.27%- Membership fee CAGR
(end / start) ** (1 / periods) − 13,541,000,000 → 5,323,000,000, 5 periods= 8.49%
Checks & caveats
What was verified, and what limits the answer
- ✕Not disclosedCost of serving members not disclosed
Fees are revenue, not profit. The filing does not allocate costs to the membership program, so a membership margin cannot be calculated.
- !CaveatNo downturn in the window
Operating income rose every year from FY2020 to FY2025.
- ✓VerifiedManagement’s stated design
This format is designed to reinforce member loyalty and provide continuing fee revenue.
Agent trace
Every tool call, in order
-
filings.statementMembership fees and operating income for FY2023–FY2025.finance filings.statement accession=0000909832-25-000101 statement=income --output jsonMembership fees and operating income for FY2023–FY2025.
Raw CLI output ↗ -
filings.statementThe same rows for FY2020–FY2022, including the pandemic year.finance filings.statement accession=0000909832-22-000021 statement=income --output jsonFY2020–FY2022 rows. Same XBRL concept, different capitalization in the label.
Raw CLI output ↗ -
filings.readRenewal rates and what management says drove membership fee growth.finance filings.read accession=0000909832-25-000101 section=mda max_chars=60000 --output jsonRenewal rates, fee growth drivers and the online sign-up caveat.
Raw CLI output ↗ -
formula.marginFee share of operating income and fee CAGR, with inputs.finance formula.margin numerator=5323M denominator=10383MFY2025: 51.27%; CAGR 8.49%.